TL;DR
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
A Seniors Guide report compares the cost of aging-in-place services and senior living options in the United States, with prices varying by care needs and location. Its figures show that $250,000 would cover about 1.9 years of care in Alaska and Hawaii, compared with roughly 3.8 to 3.9 years in Arkansas, Mississippi and Alabama. Costs depend on service levels, local prices and other factors, and the report does not provide a single price for every residential option.
Seniors Guide has published a cost comparison of senior-living and in-home care in the United States, reporting wide variation by service and location. The figures show that $250,000 would cover about 1.9 years of care in Alaska and Hawaii, while the same amount would cover about 3.8 to 3.9 years in Arkansas, Mississippi and Alabama, underscoring how sharply budgets can stretch across states.
The report covers non-medical home care, private-duty nursing and adult day health care, as well as retirement-community options. It puts the national median for non-medical home-care aides at $35 an hour, or a median $220 per day and $6,673 a month. State examples range from $163 a day in Louisiana and $189 in North Carolina to $283 in Washington.
For private-duty nurses and nursing services, the report gives a median hourly rate of about $90. It also lists a median monthly cost of $390, equivalent to $4,680 annually, noting that nurses generally spend less time with patients than non-medical aides. The report says some people may need both kinds of support; the figures describe different services and should not be treated as interchangeable.
Adult day health care averages about $95 per day, or $2,058 per month, according to the report. Its state examples include a median of about $58 per day in Alabama and an average of about $112 in Massachusetts. Prices can vary with location, schedules, program type and the level of medical supervision. The report also describes residential choices, but the supplied material does not give a comparable national price for every community type.
How State Prices Shape Care Budgets
The reported differences matter to older adults and families weighing whether to pay for help at home, attend a day program or move to a community. The same savings can pay for markedly different durations of care depending on the state, according to Seniors Guide. That makes location a major factor in long-term planning, alongside the type and amount of help someone needs.
The costs are not directly comparable without considering how much care is provided. An hourly aide, a nurse making shorter visits and a weekday day-center program deliver different services. A family estimating a budget needs to account for care hours, visit minimums, housing and local labor costs, not just a single national figure.
The report says costs reflect state cost of living and factors including labor availability, regulation, state support, Medicaid availability, and supply and demand. Those factors help explain why a national median may not predict what a particular household will pay.
Products Worth Considering

Oral-B iO Series 3 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush for Adults, Black

Fitbit Inspire 3 Health and Fitness Tracker Bundle

Fitbit Sense Health & Fitness Smartwatch (White/Gold, International Version)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Comparing Care at Home and Communities
The report frames senior living as a range of arrangements rather than one product. Aging in place may involve non-medical assistance with hygiene, meals, laundry, mobility, transportation or medication reminders. Skilled home health care, by contrast, involves trained professionals providing medical services; the source says visits are generally shorter and occur as medically necessary.
Adult day centers provide daytime supervision and social activities, with some offering health or therapeutic services. Residential choices include active-adult housing and independent living, while some communities offer more assistance. The report also identifies continuing care retirement and Life Plan communities as options that may require an initial entrance fee; their ongoing charges can include housing, activity or amenity fees.
According to Seniors Guide, the most expensive states overall in its comparison are Alaska, Hawaii, Vermont and Massachusetts. The least expensive are Arkansas, Mississippi and Alabama. The supplied source excerpt does not explain the precise calculation behind the overall state rankings, so those rankings should be read as the report’s comparison rather than a universal price guarantee.
““The median hourly cost nationally is $35.””
— Seniors Guide report
What the Cost Figures Leave Open
The figures are national medians, averages and selected state examples, not individualized quotes. Actual bills can change with care hours, service requirements, schedules, local rates and, for residential options, housing and fees. The source says non-medical home-care prices may rise for evenings, weekends and holidays, and that agencies can charge more than direct hires while offering screening, backup care and liability protection.
The supplied material does not give a publication date, a detailed methodology for every state comparison, or complete prices for independent living and other residential arrangements. It also does not specify which services or care levels are included in the report’s calculation of how long $250,000 would cover care. Medicaid and long-term care insurance may cover some medical care costs in certain circumstances, according to the report, but eligibility and coverage are not detailed.
What Families Can Check Next
The report does not announce a policy change or a new program. For households using its figures, the next step is to compare local provider quotes and the exact services included. For home care, that means asking about minimum visit lengths, evening or weekend rates and agency coverage. For day programs, families can compare schedules, supervision and any health services.
People considering a move can request a written breakdown of entrance fees, rent, care charges and recurring amenity or activity fees. Because the report’s figures are broad benchmarks, a provider’s current quote and any applicable insurance or public-benefit coverage will determine the actual cost. The source does not state when it will next update its comparison.
Key Questions
What is the national median price for non-medical home care?
Seniors Guide reports a median of $35 an hour, with a median daily cost of $220 and monthly cost of $6,673. Rates vary by location, hours, services and timing.
How much does adult day health care cost?
The report puts the U.S. average at about $95 per day, or $2,058 per month. It cites state examples of about $58 a day in Alabama and $112 in Massachusetts.
Which states are most expensive in the report?
Seniors Guide lists Alaska, Hawaii, Vermont and Massachusetts among the most expensive states overall in its comparison. It does not provide enough detail in the supplied excerpt to treat those rankings as a guaranteed estimate for an individual.
Does Medicare or Medicaid cover senior living?
The source says Medicaid and long-term care insurance may cover some medical care costs at adult day facilities. It does not provide a full explanation of eligibility or coverage, so households should check applicable program rules and their plan details.
Source: rss
