TL;DR
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Utah is piloting a Nolla Health service that uses AI to assess mild-to-moderate acne and recommend topical medication. The program begins with physician review of the first 100 prescriptions, then shifts to retrospective checks; the scope is limited to eight approved treatments and a one-year pilot.
Utah is piloting an AI system that assesses patients’ acne and can issue prescriptions for topical treatment through Nolla Health, a healthcare startup. The one-year program is limited to mild-to-moderate acne and will reduce physician review in stages, making it a test of how AI can take on part of a clinical prescribing process.
Patients use Nolla Health’s $4.99-per-month app to scan their face and submit medical history and personal information. According to the report, the AI evaluates the skin, including oiliness, assigns an acne severity score, and combines that assessment with the patient’s information to recommend from eight approved treatments. The prescriptions are for topical medications, not pills.
The pilot’s physician checks are scheduled to become less frequent over time. A doctor must review the first 100 prescriptions before they are sent to a pharmacy. For the next 400 patients, the AI may submit prescriptions directly, with a physician reviewing them retrospectively each week. In the final phase, a doctor will review at least 10% of prescriptions once a month.
The report says Nolla Health describes the medications’ adverse effects as limited to localized skin irritation or dryness. That is a statement attributed to the company’s CEO, not an independent finding about every patient or prescription. The source material does not provide outcome data from the pilot.
A Test of AI Prescribing
The program matters because it moves AI beyond providing information or administrative support: the system is intended to assess a condition and recommend treatment that can be prescribed. That makes the pilot a practical test of clinical responsibility and oversight, even though it is limited to one common skin condition and topical products.
For patients, the service could offer a more direct route to treatment, but it also raises questions about how a software assessment handles incomplete histories, unusual symptoms, or cases that fall outside the pilot’s stated scope. The staged review plan is relevant because human checks become less frequent as the program advances. The source does not establish that the system replaces doctors across healthcare or that it is safe or effective for broader use.
Products Worth Considering

Hyperice Normatec 3 Leg Compression Boots – Full Leg Recovery, Standard Size

Oral-B iO Series 5 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush with Travel Case, White

Fitbit Sense 2 Smartwatch – Blue Mist / Pale Gold
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the Review Stages Work
The pilot starts with a period in which every prescription in the first group receives a doctor’s review before reaching a pharmacy. That requirement changes for the next 400 patients: prescriptions may be submitted by the AI, with physician review taking place later on a weekly basis. The final phase uses monthly sampling, with a doctor reviewing at least one in ten prescriptions.
This is narrower than a general-purpose AI medical service. The reported scope is mild-to-moderate acne, a list of eight treatments, and topical medication. The report describes the project as a one-year program. It does not provide the full eligibility rules, the method for referring patients who need in-person care, or the criteria for deciding whether the pilot should continue.
Pilot Outcomes Are Not Yet Known
The source report does not say when the pilot began, how many people have enrolled, or whether prescriptions have already been issued. It also provides no results on diagnostic accuracy, treatment outcomes, or adverse events. The full patient eligibility and escalation procedures are not described.
It remains unclear how the responsible parties will respond if the AI makes an incorrect assessment or recommends an unsuitable treatment, and what safeguards apply when a patient’s symptoms suggest a condition beyond acne. The article reports the staged physician-review plan, but does not explain how regulators will evaluate the program or what would trigger changes to it.
The Pilot’s Next Review Stages
The next stated milestones are the first 100 prescriptions, which require physician approval before submission, followed by a group of 400 patients whose prescriptions are reviewed weekly after submission. The final phase calls for monthly review of at least 10% of prescriptions. The source does not give dates for those stages or say when results from the year-long pilot will be released.
Readers will need further reporting on enrollment, the frequency and consequences of treatment errors, patient outcomes, and whether the service remains limited to acne. Until those details are available, the confirmed development is a narrow pilot with phased human oversight, not a general authorization for AI to prescribe medication across Utah.
Key Questions
What will the Utah AI pilot do?
It will use patient-submitted facial scans and medical information to assess mild-to-moderate acne and recommend a topical medication from a list of eight approved treatments.
Will a doctor review every prescription?
Not throughout every phase. A doctor must review the first 100 prescriptions before they are submitted. For the next 400 patients, prescriptions may be submitted by the AI and reviewed weekly afterward. In the final phase, a doctor will review at least 10% monthly.
Are the prescriptions for pills?
No. The source report says the pilot is limited to topical medications rather than pills.
Is the AI pilot proven safe or effective?
The source report provides no pilot outcome data on accuracy, effectiveness, or adverse events. Nolla Health’s CEO described the listed medications’ adverse effects as localized irritation or dryness, but that is a company statement, not reported trial evidence.
How long will the program run?
The report describes it as a one-year pilot but does not state its start date or when results will be published.
Source: hn
